Nombre Oficial Abdij der Trappisten


País Belgium

Ciudad Westmalle

Código Postal B-2390


Teléfono [32] (3) 312.92.00

Fax [32] (3) 312 92 20

Hospedería E-mail [email protected]

Sitio web www.trappistwestmalle.be

Superiore/a Dom Benedict Van Overstraeten, Commissaire Monastique 2022

Otras Informaciones

Estatuto Jurídico Abbey

Diócesis Dioecesis Antverpiensis (Antwerpen)


(Re)fundado 1794


Founded by La Valsainte


1794, 6 June: Foundation. July 17: Escape to Munster from the Revolutionary armies. Marienfeld.
1795, 15 October: Foundation of a refuge at Darfeld, which later became a formal foundation.
1802, 3 August – 14 October: the monks have to leave following their suppression by Napoleon. The real estate is not confiscated, thanks to the protests of the legal owner, the Baron de Caters. One choir monk and two laybrothers remain behind.
1814, July-August: The community re-forms and on 20 August resumes regular life. At this time the community comprises 4 choir monks, 2 of whom are priests, 21 laybrothers and a few novices.
1836: Westmalle had been following the observances of la Val-Sainte up to this time. But because of the union of the two French observances, Westmalle was left without any administrative links to the other houses founded by la Val-Sainte. So, in order to secure their canonical existence, the monks requested the approval of their observances. Rome refused, but in compensation for their sacrifices, offered to raise the monastery to the rank of abbey and to create a Belgian Trappist congregation, of which the abbot of Westmalle would be Vicar General.
1872: The first General Chapter of the Belgian Trappist Congregation is held 1 – 3 October.
1887, 30 July: Consecration of the church.
1899, 20 June: re-consecration of the church, necessitated by the demolition and complete rebuilding of the presbyterium and high altar.
1914-18: The community, apart from a few monks and laybrothers, is evacuated during WWI. The evacuees stayed together as a community first at Echt then at Tegelen.


St-Sixte (1831); Meersel/Achel (1846); Tegelen (1884); Bamania (Belgian Congo, 1893-1925)

Padre Inmediato

Citeaux until 1962, Sint Sixtus until 1980, thereafter Zundert; Delegate of the Father Immediate until 2020 Caldey; Zundert

Casas hijas

Schiermonnikoog; Rochefort; Orval (since1946); Kasanza; Nazareth; Mvanda.
Achel; Tegelen; Soleilmont (1922-1972); Sint Sixtus (1836-1972); Redwoods (1963-1969).

Laicos Asociados

Les associés cisterciens de l’abbaye Notre-Dame du Sacré-Coeur de Westmalle

Antiguos(as) Superiores(as)

Benedictus WUYTS — Abbé— 16/03/1872 – 13/07/1896
Ferdinandus BROECHOVEN — Abbé — 12/08/1896 – 12/09/1911
Herman-Joseph SMETS — Abbé — 30/10/1911 – 16/07/1929
Tarcisius van der KAMP — Abbé — 17/08/1929 – 19/12/1939
Robertus EYCKMANS — Abbé — 20/01/1940 – 12/09/1956
Eduardus WELLENS — Abbé — 09/10/1956 – 15/01/1967
Déodat DE WILDE — Abbé — 03/03/1967 – 01/04/1975
Bartholomeus de STRIJCKER — Abbé — 17/04/1975 – 13/10/1987
Ivo DUJARDIN — Abbé — 28/10/1987 – 12/07/2004
Nathanaël KONINKX — Supérieur ad nutum 2004 — Abbé 2005 – 01/11/2022

Trabajo y Fuentes de Ingresos

Brewery, dairy farm


40 rooms


Autobus 41 Antwerpen-Turnhout (halte Westmalle : Trappisten).


  • Macau


  • Nasu


  • Novy Dvur

    Czech Republic